Innovation Center Staff

The Rutgers Food Innovation Center services the entire state of New Jersey.   It is led by Richard McArdle, Acting Executive Director, and has physical offices at three locations -   FIC South, located in Bridgeton;  FIC North located in Piscataway; and FIC Chemistry located in New Brunswick.   Our teams, and their contact information and biographies, are listed below.

Click on name to view staff bios.

Richard McArdle
Executive Director
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: rm1333@njaes.rutgers.edu
Margaret Brennan-Tonetta
Associate Director - NJ Agricultural Experiment Station
Associate VP Economic Development - Rutgers University
Email: Brennan@NJAES.rutgers.edu

FIC South

FIC North

FIC Chemistry

Richard McArdle
Director - FIC South
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: rm1333@njaes.rutgers.edu
Nolan Lewin
Director - FIC North
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: nl95@njaes.rutgers.edu
Tom Hartman
Director, Mass Spectrometry Operations
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: HartmanTG@aol.com

Diane Holtaway
Associate Director, Business Development
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Holtaway@NJAES.rutgers.edu

Jeff Canavan
Associate Director, Engineering & Operations
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: canavan@rutgers.edu

Joseph Lech
Mass Spectrometist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Julie Elmer
Associate Director, Food Technology
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Elmer@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Elizabeth Purcelly
Associate Director, Technical Operations & Quality
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: purcelly@njaes.rutgers.edu

Joe Scarsella
Lab Researcher IV
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Donna F Schaffner
Associate Director, Food Safety, Quality Assurance & Training
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: DFSchaffner@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Mary Jane Smith
Business Specialist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: mjsmith@njaes.rutgers.edu

Bin Khoo
Assistant Mass Spectrometist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Regina Plaire
Business Manager
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Plaire@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Roxana Zuniga
Food Production Assistant
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center

Mellonie O'Neill
Senior Manager of Production Planning, Facilities, and Compliance
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: mo495@njaes.rutgers.edu
Stephen Baughman
Senior Maintenance Mechanic
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: sb1595@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Dot Hall
Certified Food Scientist and R&D Specialist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Dot@NJAES.rutgers.edu
George Sansiveri
Plant and Process Engineering Specialist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: gsansiveri@comcast.net
Pauline Pepper
Administrative Assistant
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: pp559@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Daniel Wooton
Operations and Quality Assurance Coordinator
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: dw546@njaes.rutgers.edu