Innovation Center Staff

The Rutgers Food Innovation Center services the entire state of New Jersey.   It is led by Richard McArdle, Acting Executive Director, and has physical offices at three locations -   FIC South, located in Bridgeton;  FIC North located in Piscataway; and FIC Chemistry located in New Brunswick.   Our teams, and their contact information and biographies, are listed below.

Click on name to view staff bios.

Richard McArdle
Acting Executive Director
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: rm1333@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4518
Margaret Brennan-Tonetta
Associate Director - NJ Agricultural Experiment Station
Associate VP Economic Development - Rutgers University
Email: Brennan@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-932-3776

FIC South

FIC North

FIC Chemistry

Richard McArdle
Director - FIC South
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: rm1333@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4518
Nolan Lewin
Director - FIC North
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: nl95@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 732-445-6137
Tom Hartman
Director, Mass Spectrometry Operations
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: HartmanTG@aol.com
Phone: 848-932-5543
Diane Holtaway
Associate Director, Business Development
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Holtaway@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4514
Jeff Canavan
Associate Director, Engineering & Operations
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: canavan@rutgers.edu
Phone: 732-445-6140
Joseph Lech
Mass Spectrometist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Julie Elmer
Associate Director, Food Technology
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Elmer@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4513
Elizabeth Purcelly
Associate Director, Technical Operations & Quality
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: purcelly@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 732-445-6144
Joe Scarsella
Lab Researcher IV
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Donna F Schaffner
Associate Director, Food Safety, Quality Assurance & Training
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: DFSchaffner@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4528
Denise Bartone
Project Director, Food Industry Talent Network
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: db1078@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 732 445-6135
Bin Khoo
Assistant Mass Spectrometist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Regina Plaire
Business Manager
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Plaire@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4515
Mary Jane Smith
Business Specialist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: mjsmith@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 732-445-6130
Shofiul Islam
Senior Manager
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Sho@rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4511
Roxana Zuniga
Food Production Assistant
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Phone: 848-932-5509
Mellonie O'Neill
Senior Manager of Production Planning, Facilities, and Compliance
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: mo495@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4512
Stephen Baughman
Senior Maintenance Mechanic
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: sb1595@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4535
Dot Hall
Certified Food Scientist and R&D Specialist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: Dot@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4525
George Sansiveri
Plant and Process Engineering Specialist
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: gsansiveri@comcast.net
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4529
Pauline Pepper
Administrative Assistant
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: pp559@NJAES.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900 Ext: 4521
Daniel Wooton
Operations and Quality Assurance Coordinator
Rutgers University Food Innovation Center
Email: dw546@njaes.rutgers.edu
Phone: 856-459-1900